In this article, we will discuss the gluten free food list. Gluten is a particular type of protein that you won’t find in meat or eggs. Gluten is found in rye, wheat, and barley. If you are looking for gluten-free foods, then you should avoid these grains. A gluten-free diet is necessary for most people who have gluten allergies or celiac disease. A state which causes intestinal damage when gluten is consumed. Common symptoms of gluten allergy include abdominal pain, diarrhea, bloating, fatigue, forgetfulness, and irritability. The gluten free diet is adopted for the treatment of celiac sprue and dermatitis herpetiformis. Despite a gluten, free diet does not heal celiac sprue and dermatitis herpetiformis, following the diet will alleviate the symptoms linked to gluten sensitivity.
It is a quite big change, switching to a gluten-free diet. It will take some time getting used to a new diet plan. You will be surprised to know that there are plenty of gluten-free products, such as bread and pasta, are now available in local stores. Almost all grocery stores sell gluten-free foods now. In case, you can’t find the grocery store containing gluten-free foods near you then search online. Consult a dietitian for a correct diet plan, if you are just starting with gluten-free foods.
Gluten Free Food List:
- Gluten Free Food List:
- 1.) Gluten Free Fruits and Vegetables List
- 2.) Rice and Potatoes in Your Gluten-Free Food List
- 3.) Grains and Starches in Your Gluten-Free Food List
- 4.) Beverage in Your Gluten Free Food List
- 5.) Soup in Your Gluten Free Food List
- 6.) Fats in Your Gluten Free Food List
- 7.) Herbs in Your Gluten Free Food List
- 8.) Dairy Products in Your Gluten Free Food List
- 9.) Gluten Free Bread in Your Gluten-Free Food List
- 10.) Healthy Fat in Your Gluten-Free Food List
- 11.) Protein in Your Gluten Free Food List
- 12.) Meat in Your Gluten Free Food List
1.) Gluten Free Fruits and Vegetables List
- Fruits: Honeydew melon, kiwi, kumquat, lemon, limes, mandarins, oranges, mangoes, papaya, peaches, pears, pineapple, plantains, plums, persimmons, quince, raspberries, strawberries, tamarind, tangerines, acai, apples, apricot, bananas, blackberries, blueberries, cantaloupe, carob, cherry, berries, currants, dates, figs, grapes, guava, and watermelons.
- Vegetables: Onions, parsley, peas, peppers, potatoes (white and sweet), pumpkins, radish, spinach, squash, turnips, watercress, corn, agar, alfalfa, algae, arrowroot, artichoke, arugula, asparagus, avocado, broccoli, beans, Brussel sprouts, cabbage, cauliflower, carrots, celery, corn, cucumber, eggplant, garlic, green beans, kale, lettuce, mushrooms and okra.
2.) Rice and Potatoes in Your Gluten-Free Food List
Rice and potatoes do not contain gluten. You can use these food items for topping with just about anything, combine them into meals, snacks, or enjoy them on their own without mixing them with any other food items. You are really worried that you can’t eat your favorite pasta? Here’s a secret: When you really need a bowl of spaghetti, it is possible to find gluten-free pasta.
3.) Grains and Starches in Your Gluten-Free Food List
Ready-to-eat cereal prepared from grains like gluten-free pasta and bread products. Buckwheat, soybean, Tapioca arrowroot potato, flours, quinoa, amaranth, millet, flax Rice, cream-of-rice, puffed rice, unflavored popcorn, wild rice Corn, corn meal, hominy, grits and corn starch Pure. You can take gluten-free oats after taking health professional recommendation.
4.) Beverage in Your Gluten Free Food List
Freshly brewed coffee (no grains added); teas without inhibiting grains Milk, chocolate milk made with cocoa 100% fruit juices, soda (check tag) Wine, distilled alcohols and cordials (check tag for chemicals and dyes), gluten-free beers.
5.) Soup in Your Gluten Free Food List
Homemade broth; gluten-free bouillon cubes; soups prepared with rice or gluten-free pasta and gluten-free chowders and creamed soups harden with cream, cornstarch, potato flour or other allowed special flours. Homemade or processed gluten-free macaroni without sauces thickened with flour, grains made with only cream (no flour or prohibited thickeners)
6.) Fats in Your Gluten Free Food List
Butter, oils (check label for wheat germ oil or any unknown oil source), lard, most vegetable shortenings and margarines, foods fried in pure oils that have not been breaded with inhibiting flours Pure mayonnaise (and added salad dressings that are thicken with egg, cornstarch or allowed special flours), homemade salad dressings made with concentrate vinegar Cream, bacon, sour cream nuts, olives, peanut butter, avocado and cream cheese.
7.) Herbs in Your Gluten Free Food List
- Herbs, pure spices, salt, and monosodium glutamate (MSG).
- Honey, Sugar, molasses, jelly, jam, maple syrup, corn syrup, imitation, or pure vanilla extract.
- Coconut, pure chocolate, pure cocoa, marshmallows and candies prepared from allowed grains.
- Mustard, pickles, relish, horseradish, ketchup steak sauce not prepared with inhibited component like gluten-free soy sauce, rice, or cider vinegar.
8.) Dairy Products in Your Gluten Free Food List
- Whole, low-fat, skim, fresh, dried or evaporated milk, flavored milk (check labels).
- Plain yogurt and kefir, flavored yogurt and kefir (check labels).
- All aged hard cheeses (swiss, parmesan, cheddar, etc.), cottage cheese.
9.) Gluten Free Bread in Your Gluten-Free Food List
Usually, bread contains gluten, but the good news is, many health food stores and some main supermarkets now sell gluten-free products, covering an assortment of bread. These are often prepared with rice or potato flour instead of wheat products. Make sure that you carefully check the label to get 100% gluten-free bread.
10.) Healthy Fat in Your Gluten-Free Food List
Extra virgin olive oil, sesame oil, coconut oil, and pasture-fed butter. Other healthy fat foods are ghee, almond milk, avocados, coconuts, nuts, and cheese (except for blue cheeses). Some gluten-free seeds like flaxseed, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, chia seeds, and pumpkin seeds.
11.) Protein in Your Gluten Free Food List
Eggs, wild fish such as salmon, black cod, grouper, herring, and sardines. Other protein rich gluten-free foods are shellfish, molluscs, grass-fed meat, fowl, poultry, and pork.
12.) Meat in Your Gluten Free Food List
Meats are always gluten free except prepare breaded or fried with breadcrumbs unless it’s gluten free flour for the dough. Avoid taking gravy as most of the gravy has gluten in it.
Food Items You should Always Avoid:
- Avoid all food and drinks containing.
- Malt flavoring and malt vinegar are usually made from barley.
- Wheat: Contains items that are prepared with flour. Many parts of the wheat which carrying the bran, germ, and starch, and grain species gain from inhibited grains, for example, triticale is a hybrid of wheat and rye.
- Barley: Contains all parts of the barley grain and items prepared from barley such as malt flavorings, brewer’s yeast, brown rice syrup, and beer.
- Rye: Includes all parts of the rye grain, normally found in our food supply as rye bread and rye flour. Opposite wheat and barley, rye is normally not used as a food additive.
- Oats: includes all products including oats (including oat flour, oat bran, and oat gums). There are sources of pure oats available; consult with your dietitian about how to add oats safely.
Additional Tips on Gluten Free Foods:
- Get used to reading food labels when you shop.
- Use gluten-free substitutes in place of gluten-containing foods.
- Remember lots of foods are naturally gluten-free.
- Know which alcohol to avoid.
- Remember you can still enjoy meals out with family and friends.
- Be aware of cross contamination.
- Avoid sauces containing gluten.
- Experiment in the kitchen to find a substitute for your usual gluten containing ingredients.
- Remember, gluten-free meals can be just as delicious and healthy too.